I hate summary posts.

Things I did this weekend:

  • Made crème brulée with a real propane blowtorch (mmm, fire. mmm, burn-sugar crust that crackles when you pierce it with a spoon.).
  • Made crisp, melt-delicately-on-your-tongue meringues that tasted almost as good as my aunt’s, even if they didn’t look quite as pretty.
  • Made real, delicious, non-mushy Spanish rice from scratch, and chicken seared in a cast-iron skillet and simmered in a kicked-up enchilada sauce.
  • Carried the bishop’s crosier before her during a high Mass.
  • Read a chapter of Greek, and remembered why I didn’t want to take it.
  • Watched a couple of episodes of Batman: TAS, and remembered why it’s such an amazingly good show.
  • Started to plan for my First Sermon Evar.
  • Bought pseudo-eco-friendly food and felt guilty as an environmentalist.
  • Discovered (and sang at a hymnsing!) “There Is a Fountain Filled with Blood,” which is the most cheerfully gruesome and morbid hymn I’ve ever heard.
  • Chastised myself for falling behind on my journal, then tried to write this entry twice before and had it deleted twice. Dammit.

At some point I’ll write up a summary of my courseload and commitments for this semester. Too busy for that now.

Leave a Reply

