Today’s Feminist Theology assignment.

This week’s reflection/discussion assignment was to write a prayer (or other form of art or literature, for those uncomfortable with prayer), using female language for God. This is what I ended up writing.


God Most Holy, Creator of all:
      when the earth floated formless in Thy womb,
            a word waiting to be spoken,
      this soul’s hour was known to Thee.
Naked before Thee, I kneel.
Teach me Thy secret places;
      unfold Thy beauty for me in a twilight alcove;
      encompass me in Thy radiant darkness.
Welcome me into Thine hidden banquet,
      that I may feast on Thee.

Teach me to thirst for Thee,
      El Shaddai, God of suckling.
Let me crave Thee as my life’s-milk;
      give me peace at Thy bosom.
Through Thy tender care,
      make blossom the walled garden of my soul;
      breathe a warm wind,
            thaw these hardened banks of earth,
                  speed the coming harvest.

In humility I approach Thee,
      human prayers from a human heart.
Ignore my words,
      so distant from Thy truth.
Forgive my deeds,
      so easily callous.
Heed instead the spirit with which I speak.
Grant me the love to love Thee.
Forgive me, Eternal One,
      for the hours I have forgotten Thee,
      and bestow on me the first flush of ardor,
            until I delight only in Thee.

Amen.

4 comments on “Today’s Feminist Theology assignment.

  1. sly civilian says:

    beautiful…i confess that my hebrew is practically non-existant, but is there a reason for linking El Shaddai and God of Suckling?

  2. me says:

    outrageous.
    God refers to himself repeatedly in the Scriptures as male. God the Father. His Son, Jesus, refers to Him as Father, instructs his disciples to pray, “Our Father…”, I could go on and on with examples. What could be wrong with a person like you?

  3. Esther says:

    Sly – El Shaddai is a Hebrew name for God; it is a name, like YHWH, not a metaphor, so it doesn’t necessarily have a specific “meaning.” However, many scholars have suggested that the word “Shaddai” is linguistically related to “shaddayim,” “breasts,” giving connotations of fertility and nurturing.

    “Me” – If you bother to identify yourself, I’ll respond in more detail. I’m curious, though. Nowhere did I say that we should stop calling God “Father”; after all, Scripture refers to God by many names, of which “Father” is only one. So what’s “outrageous” about using some of the other ones as well?

  4. Richard says:

    Wow. I’m impressed.

    The Marquand ministers should get you to write their feminist texts, it’d be much more poetic.

    Thanks for posting this – it’s really helpful.

Leave a Reply

