Corn in a Cup, etc.

I’m really enjoying this “being a guest of the boyfriend’s parents” thing; they buy food for me to cook for them, so I get to play with fun ingredients, they get tasty meals, and everyone wins!

Tonight’s dinner: ceviche (roughly based on this recipe, with a variety of seafood and without the avocado or cucumber), chopped salad, Chef Roger‘s tomato bisque (recipe to come!), and the Mexican classic “corn in a cup.”

In retrospect, the meal was a bit too heavy on acidic flavors, but each dish came out really well, and the overall combination was very light and fresh-tasting. Once again I forgot to take pictures until it was too late, but below is an approximate recipe for corn in a cup, since I haven’t seen any online. Enjoy!


Corn in a Cup (Elotes en Vaso)
(serves 4)


1 lb frozen cut corn
2 tablespoons butter
1/2 cup lime juice (3-4 limes)
1/2 cup cream (more if you use half and half, less if you use crema)
1/4 lb crumbly, salty white cheese (ideally cotija/queso añejado, but any other salty firm cheese, like ricotta salata, feta, or parmesan, is acceptable)
paprika, cayenne, chopped fresh cilantro, salt, and pepper to taste

1. Put the corn in a saucepan with enough salted water to cover. Bring to a boil; let boil for one or two minutes, then drain, turn off the heat, and return to saucepan.

2. Add butter and stir to melt the butter. Mix in lime juice. Mix in cream.

3. Sprinkle with a good heavy coating of paprika, cayenne, and pepper; add a sprinkling of cilantro and salt if desired, though the cheese adds plenty of salt. Mix well.

4. Top with crumbled or grated cheese. Serve in a cup with a spoon!

Note: This is a very loose recipe. Feel free to adjust the proportions of lime juice, cream, cheese, and spices to taste!

This entry was posted in Food.

7 comments on “Corn in a Cup, etc.

  1. agm says:

    I see why you were asking which cheese to use =). I may have to try this myself…

  2. […] be / When I consider my source instead of me. I am eating dinner. It is vaguely modeled on Corn in a Cup: sauteed corn, edamame, red bell pepper, carrots, onion, and garlic, with a good hit of cayenne and […]

  3. stella flores says:

    Awesome. I was looking for one without mayo. I love these Mexican corn cups but I understood that some put in creme the Mexican brand but then some say no it is mayo well I could not really accept mayo so I love this recipe.

  4. Yolanda J. says:

    Wonderful! No one knew what kind of cheese to use…Thank You!

  5. shamtest says:

    I can’t seem to look at this post from my smartphone!!!!

  6. bonnie says:

    I am so glad to find this recipe. We found this treat in Corpus Christi, Tx years ago and didn’t think to ask for the recipe or it’s name. Tonight I thought to look on the internet and here I am! Thanks. Will make it tomorrow!!

  7. For my cream I used regular sour cream because it’s what I had in my fridge at the time. It works just as well, I think. But I haven’t had it with like you said so I don’t know which is better.

Leave a Reply

